History of Women in





Before 1800

1552 - Mary, Queen of Scots coined the term “caddy” by calling her assistants cadets.


1811 - On January 9, the first known women’s golf tournament was held at Musselburgh Golf Club, Scotland, among the town fishwives.

1867 - St. Andrew's in Scotland was the first ladies golf club.

1890 - golf's first mixed foursome match occurs.

1893 - Formation of the Ladies Golf Union.

1894 – October 1-18 the first ladies golf tournament was held in NJ.

1894 - The first Australian women's national golf championship was held.

1895 - The first Women's Amateur Golf championship was contested among thirteen golfers at the Meadow Brook Club, Hempstead, N.Y., on Nov. 9.


1922 - Glenna Collett holds the record for the most times in the finals (eight). The Vare Trophy for the lowest scoring average is named in her honor.

1932 - The first Curtis Cup Match was staged in May at England's Wentworth Golf Club.

1934 - Virginia Van Wie was named the Associated Press Female Athlete of the Year for golf.

1938 - Patty Berg, won the National Women's Amateur Golf title.

1946 - The Women's Professional Golf Association was formed.

1948 - Patty Berg became the first president of the Ladies' Professional Golf Association.

1949 - Wilson Sporting Goods agreed to sponsor the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA).

1949 - Marlene Bauer, won the first US Golf Association Girls' Junior Championship. She became the youngest athlete ever to be named AP Athlete of the Year, Golfer of the Year and Teenager of the Year.

1950 - Six women were selected as charter members of the Women's Golf Hall of Fame.

1951 - Babe Zaharias set a one-year earnings record for women golfers with $14,800 in winnings.

1951 - Louise Suggs, became the association's first inductee to the Hall of Fame.

1955 - The first LPGA championship was held.

1957 - Louise Suggs won the Vare Trophy for the best scoring average for a woman golfer.

1959 - Patty Berg hit the first "hole-in-one" for a woman in a golf tournament.

1960 - Betsy Rawls became the first woman to win the US Women's Open golf title four times.

1961 - Mickey Wright won the first woman's golf "grand slam," with the LPGA championship, the US Open, and the Titleholders tournament.

1961 - On February 15, golfer Louise Suggs defeated ten men at the $10,000 Palm Beach par-3 invitational.

1963 - the LPGA championship tournament was televised for the first time.

1964 - Althea Gibson became the first black woman to earn her LPGA player's card.

1965 - The Women's Golf Open was televised nationally for the first time.

1968 - Sandra Post became the first non-US player and rookie to win the LPGA Championship.

1975 - Amy Alcott became the youngest winner on the LPGA Tour at nineteen.

1977 - At thirteen, Lise Ann Russell became the youngest amateur to qualify and compete in a LPGA event.

1978 - Nancy Lopez was the first female golfer to win Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year in the same year.

1982 - Kathy Whitworth had eighty-eight career victories, more than any other American, male or female.

1986 - Pat Bradley became the first woman golfer to win over $2 million in a single year.

1990 - Juli Inkster became the first woman to win the only professional golf tournament in the world in which women and men compete head-to-head.

1992 - Golfer Nancy Lopez was honored as the recipient of the Women's Sports Foundation's Flo Hyman Award.

1998 - Se Ri Pak became the youngest woman to win the LPGA Championship.

1999 - Aree Wongluekiet became the youngest U.S. Girls' Junior Golf Championship at thirteen.

1999 - The LPGA celebrated its fiftieth birthday.


2000 - Judy Rankin, became the first woman to break the $100,000 barrier.

2000 – Kathy Holzhauer hit two holes-in-one in the same round of golf.

2001 - Kerrie Webb, became the youngest LPGA player in history to win a Career Grand Slam.

2002 - twelve-year-old Michelle Wie, qualified for the LPGA Tour's season opening. Wie became the first female to qualify for the Hawaii Pearl Open in February.

2002 - Se Ri Pak became the youngest player in LPGA history to win four major championships.

2003 - Chako Higuchi was the first golfer from Japan to be inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame.

2004 – At fourteen, Michelle Wie was the youngest athlete to win one of the laureus world sports academy honors.

2004 - Liz Johnson, became the first woman to qualify for a PBA Tour event.

2005 - For the first time, a rules change allowed women to play in British Open.

2005 - Annika Sorenstam became the first player in LPGA Tour history to win a tournament five straight times.


Back to Top