Women of
the Halls of Fame

Baseball Hall of Fame

Basketball Hall of Fame

Field Hockey Hall of Fame

Ice Hockey Hall of Fame

Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Martial Arts Hall of Fame

Soccer Hall of Fame

Softball Hall of Fame

Swimming Hall of Fame

Tennis Hall of Fame

Volleyball Hall of Fame

Women's Hall of Fame


Issues Page

Baseball Hall of Fame
Honoring the Greats of America's Greatest Pastime

Founded in 1939, the National Baseball Hall of Fame is located in Cooperstown, NY, about 70 miles west of Albany, NY and 30 miles south of the New York State Thruway. Cooperstown is known for the Baseball Hall of Fame and attracts fans of all ages. Family and friends can enjoy the Hall of Fame game each year, played at Double Day Field, marvel at the sites of Induction Weekend in the summer, or just come for a museum visit.

The Hall of Fame is open 7 days a week throughout the year, excluding Christmas, Thanksgiving, and New Year's Day. Off season hours run from after Labor Day through the Thursday before Memorial Day Weekend. During this part of the year the museum is open from 9:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. daily. From the Friday of Memorial Day Weekend until Labor Day Monday, the museum's hours are from 9:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. daily. Admission fees can be found on the Baseball Hall of Fame's official website.

Currently, there are 278 National Baseball Hall of Fame members that include 196 former major leaguers, 35 Negro leaguers, 23 executives and pioneers, 16 managers, and eight umpires. The first five players voted to the Hall of Fame were well known baseball greats, Ty Cobb, Babe Ruth, Honus Wagner, Christy Mathewson, and Walter Johnson. However, of the 278 Hall of Fame members, one is a female.